Oak Ridge Boys - Elvira

Song written by Dallas Frazier, realesed in December 1965 . But the most successful version was recorded by The Oak Ridge Boys, for MCA in 1981, it reached number one on the US country charts on May 30, 1981 , also arrived at number one of the Canadian country lists. The album was certified double platinum by the RIAA.

Elvira:

Song written by Dallas Frazier, realesed in December 1965, for Capitol seal, with the production of Marvin Hughes, arrived at the position 72 of lists US Billboard Hot 100. The song was included on the album, Elvira (Capitol 1966). But the most successful version was recorded by The Oak Ridge Boys, for MCA in 1981, it reached number one on the US country charts on May 30, 1981 , also arrived at number one of the Canadian country lists. The song was included on the album, Fancy Free (Capitol 1981). The album was certified double platinum by the RIAA.

Ray Baker, who worked on this song, tells that he met Dallas Frazier in a small brewery called The High Hat in Madison, Tennessee. Dallas was a handsome young boy who had just moved from California and worked for Ferlin Husky at a gas station it was owned by Ferlin. They made friends immediately, one day leaving the brewery, Ray and Dallas driving through East Nashville, almost passed a red light at the intersection of Gallatin Road (a main road) and a side street called Elvira Street. They stopped in time and while they were sitting drinking beer and having a good time, Dallas looked up and noticed the street sign. Immediately he began to sing the chorus of what would become the song Elvira.

Versions:

 

Dallas Frazier 1965 (Capitol)

Baby Ray 1967 (Imperial Records)

Kenny Rogers & The first edition 1970 (Reprise Records)

Rodney Crowell 1978 (Warner Bros)

Ronnie Hawkins 1979 (United Artists Records)

Obie McClinton 1980 (Sunbird Records)

The Oak Ridge Boys 1981 (MCA)

Ka’au Crater Boys 1998 (Roy Sakuma Productions)

Miquel Batlle Garriga
mbatllegarriga@gmail.com

The Oak Ridge Boys – Elvira lyrics

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira

 

[Verse 1]

Eyes that look like heaven, lips like cherry wine

That girl can sure enough make my little light shine

I get a funny feeling, up and down my spine

Cause I know that my Elvira’s mine

So I’m singin’

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira

 

[Bridge]

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow, heigh-ho Silver, away

 

[Verse 2]

Tonight I’m gonna meet her, at the Hungry House Cafe

And I’m gonna give her all the love I can, yes I am

She’s gonna jump and holler, cause I’ve saved up my last two dollars

We’re gonna search and find that preacher man

And I’m singin’

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira

 

[Bridge]

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow, heigh-ho Silver, away

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira

 

[Bridge]

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow, heigh-ho Silver, away

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira

 

[Bridge]

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow

Giddy up, oom poppa, omm poppa, mow mow, heigh-ho Silver, away

 

[Chorus]

Elvira, Elvira

My heart’s on fire, for Elvira



Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0