· 

The Jones Family performs "Gold Watch and Chain"on Hee Haw.

The Jones Family performs "Gold Watch and Chain"on Hee Haw.

The chorus of "Gold Watch and Chain" is based on the Reuben's Train songs that include Nine Hundred Miles. The verses are based on the 1879 Westendorf song, "Is There No Kiss For Me Tonight, Love."

RECORDING:

Carter Family, "Gold Watch and Chain" (Victor 23821, 1933; Montgomery Ward M-7354, c. 1937)

 

 

Gold Watch and Chain lyrics

Darling, how can I stay here without you

I have nothing to cheer my poor heart

This old world would seem sad, love, without you

Tell me now that we're never to part

 

Oh, I'll pawn you my gold watch and chain, love

And I'll pawn you my gold diamond ring

I will pawn you this heart in my bosom

Only say that you love me again

 

Take back all the gifts you have given

But a ring and a lock of your hair

And a card with your picture upon it

It's a face that is false, but it's fair

 

Tell me why that you do not love me

Tell me why that your smile is not bright

Tell me why you have grown so cold-hearted

Is there no kiss for me, love, tonight


Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0