· 

Roy Clark performs "I Saw the Light" on Hee Haw.

Roy Clark performs "Down in the Valley" on Hee Haw 1979.

"I Saw the Light" is a country gospel song written by Hank Williams. Williams was inspired to write the song while returning from a concert by a remark his mother made while they were arriving in Montgomery, Alabama. He recorded the song during his first session for MGM Records, and released in September 1948. The song is set to the tune of the traditional Scottish folk tune "Bonnie Charlie", also commonly known as "Will ye no come back again?". The song became the shows' closing song for Williams and one of his most popular tunes. Williams' version did not enjoy major success during its initial release. The song was soon covered by other acts and with time became a country gospel standard.

 

Hank Williams I Saw The Light lyrics

I wandered so aimless life filled with sin

I wouldn't let my dear saviour in

Then Jesus came like a stranger in the night

Praise the Lord I saw the light

 

I saw the light I saw the light

No more darkness no more night

Now I'm so happy no sorrow in sight

Praise the Lord I saw the light

 

Just like a blind man I wandered along

Worries and fears I claimed for my own

Then like the blind man that God gave back his sight

Praise the Lord I saw the light

 

I saw the light I saw the light

No more darkness no more night

Now I'm so happy no sorrow in sight

Praise the Lord I saw the light

 

I was a fool to wander and a-stray

Straight is the gate and narrow the way

Now I have traded the wrong for the right

Praise the Lord I saw the light

 

I saw the light I saw the light

No more darkness no more night

Now I'm so happy no sorrow in sight

Praise the Lord I saw the light


Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0