· 

George Jones and Tammy Wynette performs "Rollin' in My Sweet Baby's Arms"on Hee Haw.

George Jones and Tammy Wynette performs "Rollin' in My Sweet Baby's Arms"on Hee Haw.

"Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms" is an American traditional song. It seems to have developed from lyrics in the cowboy song "My Lula Gal", ¡itself to development of bawdy British and Appalachian songs generally known as "Bang Bang Rosie" or "Bang Away Lulu.

 

The Flatt & Scruggs version was first released as a single by Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys, on December 14, 1951. Buck Owens released his cover version "Rollin 'in My Sweet Baby's Arms" in August 1971 as the second single from his album Ruby. The song peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles chart.  It also reached number 1 on the RPM Country Tracks chart in Canada. 

Rollin' In My Sweet Baby's Arms Lyrics

 

I'm gonna lay around the shack

Till the mail train comes back

Then I'll roll in my sweet baby's arms.

 

Well, I ain't gonna work on the railroad

I ain't gonna work on the farm

Hey, I'll lay around the shack

Till the mail train comes back

And roll in my sweet baby's arms.

 

Well, I'm rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Lay around the shack

Till the mail train comes back

Then I'll roll in my sweet baby's arms.

 

[Instrumental]

 

Well, now where were you last Saturday night

While I was a lyin' in jail

Hey, you're walkin' the streets with another man

Wouldn't even go my bail.

 

Well, I'm rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Lay around the shack

Till the mail train comes back

I'll roll in my sweet baby's arms.

 

[Instrumental]

 

Well, now mama's a beauty operator

Sister can wheel and can spin

Hey, now daddy owns an interest in an old cotton gin

Watch that ol' money roll in.

 

Well, I'm rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Rollin' in my sweet baby's arms

Lay around the shack

Till the mail train comes back

Then I'll roll in my sweet baby's arms..



Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0