· 

Roy Acuff on the Jimmy Dean Show

Bill Anderson on The Jimmy Dean Show.

"The Wabash Cannonball" is an American folk song about a fictional train, thought to have originated in the late 19th century. Its first documented appearance was on sheet music published in 1882, titled "The Great Rock Island Route" 

The Carter Family made one of the first recordings of the song in 1929, though it was not released until 1932. Another popular version was recorded by Roy Acuff in 1936.The Acuff version is one of the fewer than 40 all-time singles to have sold 10 million (or more) physical copies worldwide.

Wabash Cannonball Lyrics

From the great Atlantic ocean

To the wide Pacific shore

From the queen of flowing mountains

To the southbelt by the shore

She's mighty tall and handsome

And known quite well by all

She's the combination

Called the Wabash Cannonball

 

She came down from Birmingham

One cold December day

As she rolled into the station

You could hear all the people say

There's a girl from Tennessee

She's long and she's tall

She came down from Birmingham

On the Wabash Cannonball

 

Our eastern states are dandies

So the people always say

From New York to St. Louis

And Chicago by the way

From the hills of Minnesota

Where the rippling waters fall

No changes can be taken

On the Wabash Cannonball

 

Here's to Daddy Claxton

May his name forever stand

And always be remembered

'Round the courts of Alabam

His earthly race is over

And the curtains round him fall

We'll carry home to vic'try

On the Wabash Cannonball

 

Listen to the jingle

And the rumble and the roar

As she glides along the woodlands

Through the hills and by the shore

Hear the mighty rush of the engine

Hear that lonesome hobo squall

You're travlin' through the jungles

On the Wabash Cannonball

Freight Train Blues Lyrics

I was born in dixie in a boomer's shack

Just a little old shanty by a railroad track

The hummin' of the drivers was my lullaby

And a freight train whistle taught me how to cry

 

I've got the freight train blues, lordy, lordy, lordy

Got 'em in the bottom of my ramblin' shoes

And when that whistle blows, I've gotta go

Oh! lordy! guess I'm never gonna lose

The mean old freight train blues

 

Now my pappy was a fireman and my mammy dear

Was the only daughter of an engineer

My sister married a brakeman and it ain't no joke

Now it's a shame the way she keeps a good man broke

 

I've got the freight train blues, lordy, lordy, lordy

Got 'em in the bottom of my ramblin' shoes

And when the whistle blows, I've gotta go

Oh! lordy! guess I'm never gonna lose

The mean old freight train blues



Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0