· 

Jake Penrod - Cold Cold Heart

Jake Penrod sings Cold Cold Heart on TruCountry Music Show.

"Cold, Cold Heart"written by Hank Williams. This blues ballad is both a classic of honky-tonk.

Williams adapted the melody for the song from T. Texas Tyler's 1945 recording of "You'll Still Be in My Heart," written by Ted West in 1943.The song achingly and artfully describes frustration that the singer's love and trust is unreciprocated due to a prior bad experience in the other's past. Stories of the song's origins vary. In the Williams episode of American Masters, country music historian Colin Escott states that Williams was moved to write the song after visiting his wife Audrey in the hospital, who was suffering from an infection brought on by an abortion she had carried out at their home unbeknownst to Hank. 

Hank Williams Cold Cold Heart Lyrics

 

I tried so hard,my dear,to show that you're my every dream

Yet you're afraid each thing I do is just some evil scheme

A memory from your lonesome past keeps us so far apart

Why can't I free your doubtful mind and melt your cold, cold heart?

 

Another love before my time made your heart sad and blue

And so my heart is paying now for things I didn't do

In anger, unkind words are said that make the teardrops start

Why can't I free your doubtful mind and melt your cold, cold heart?

 

You'll never know how much it hurts to see you sit and cry

You know you need and want my love, yet you're afraid to try

Why do you run and hide from life, to try it just ain't smart

Why can't I free your doubtful mind and melt your cold, cold heart?

 

There was a time when I believed that you belonged to me

But now I know your heart is shackled to a memory

The more I learn to care for you, the more we drift apart

Why can't I free your doubtful mind and melt your cold, cold heart?



Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0