· 

Johnny Horton - The Electrified Donkey

Johnny Horton - The Electrified Donkey.

This song is by Johnny Horton and appears on the Compilation Rockin' Rollin' Johnny Horton (1981).

John Gale "Johnny" Horton (April 30, 1925 – November 5, 1960) was an American country music and rockabilly singer most famous for his semi-folk, so-called "saga songs" which began the "historical ballad" craze of the late 1950s and early 1960s. With them, he had several major successes, most notably during 1959 with the song "The Battle of New Orleans" (written by Jimmy Driftwood), which was awarded the 1960 Grammy Award for Best Country & Western Recording. The song was awarded the Grammy Hall of Fame Award, and during 2001 ranked No. 333 of the Recording Industry Association of America's "Songs of the Century"

Johnny Horton - The Electrified Donkey Lyrics

 

Oh, well, I bought me a donkey, about four foot tall

To plough my cotton in the early fall

He's runnin' around, it was an awful sin

I had to build a fence to keep my donkey in

 

I rigged up a wire with a battery charge

To keep my donkey from a-running at large  Inside this bin I turned him loose  Thrilled by volts of electrified juice

 

Well, which way did my donkey go

If you see him let me know

I haven't seen my donkey since

He backed into that electrified fence

 

Now, the first time he backed up against it

He threw back his ears and he had a fit

He brayed real loud and he hit high gear

He jumped up into the stratosphere 

 

I just got word from Albuquerque 

A donkey up there was looking for work

He's my donkey and his name is Jack

Oh, how I wish he'd come on back

 

Well, which way did my donkey go

If you see him let me know

I haven't seen my donkey since

He backed into that electrified fence

 

Now, more word came from Palomar 

A man up there was a-watching the star

 While looking through his telescope 

He nearly had himself a stroke 

 

He saw something riding up the rainbow trail

With two long ears and a puckered up tail

The thing he saw when he 'firmed the states 

Was a donkey heading for the pearly gates

 

Well, which way did my donkey go

If you see him let me know

I haven't seen my donkey since

He backed into that electrified fence

Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0