· 

Mel Tillis - Sugarfoot Rag

Mel Tillis sings  Sugarfoot Rag, on Grand Ole Opry.

"Sugar-Foot Rag" (or Sugarfoot Rag) is a song written by Hank Garland and Vaughn Horton.It was originally recorded by Garland and released in 1949, selling over a million records. It was then recorded by Red Foley in 1950. It was also recorded by  Jerry Reed and released in November 1979 as the lead single from his album, Texas Bound and Flyin. The song reached a peak of number 12 on the U.S. Billboard Hot Country Singles chart and number 13 on the Canadian RPM Country Tracks chart.Junior Brown covered Sugar Foot Rag on his 1993 album Guit with It.

Jerry Reed - Sugar Foot Rag Lyrics

 

Well, I'm gonna get out my sycamore and shine up my shoes

Meet my baby and tell her the news

I bet my bundle on a swayback nag

And I came home winner with a plenty o'swag

 

One foot, two foot slew foot drag

Swing your honey to the sugar foot rag

Do a little jig and a zig and a zag

And listen to the fiddles as they play that sugar foot rag

 

Well, I got a big jug o'cinder and a bottle of wine

One's for my honey and the other is mine

Sip on the cider and sip on the wine

They both sip together and a have a good time

 

One foot, two foot slew foot drag

Swing your honey to the sugar foot rag

Do a little jig and a zig and a zag

And listen to the steel guitar as they play that sugar foot rag

 

I'm gonna spend all my money and a git on a jag

Swing my honey to the sugar foot rag

Walk right up and stomp on the floor

And swing up the middle with a shoofly four

 

One foot, two foot slew foot drag

Swing your honey to the sugar foot rag

Do a little jig and a zig and a zag

And listen to Jerry, he's gonna play you that sugar foot rag

 

Do a little jig and a zig and a zag

And that's the way you play that sugar foot rag

Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0