· 

George Jones on Gran Ole Opry

George Jones on Gran Ole Opry,George sings The Corvette Song And Tennessee Whiskey.

"The Corvette Song" is a country song written by Gary Gentry and recorded by George Jones. It was recorded for his 1985 album Who's Gonna Fill Their Shoes The song peaked at number three on the Hot Country Singles chart in early 1986.

"Tennessee Whiskey" is the title of a country song written by Dean Dillon and Linda Hargrove. It was originally recorded by  David Allan Coe for his album of the same name Tennessee Whiskey. George Jones' 1983 version of the song was included on his album Shine On, and reached number 2 on the Hot Country Singles chart. 

 

The Corvette Song

I stopped off at the Quicksack for some beer and cigarettes

The old man took my money as he stared at my Corvette

He said, I had one just like her son, in 1963

Till the man down at the bank took her from me

 

Son she was hotter than a two dollar pistol

She was the fastest thing around

Long and lean, every young man's dream

And she turned every head in town

She was built and fun to handle son, I'm glad you dropped in

She reminds me of the one I loved back then

 

So I handed him the keys and said, "Here take her for a spin"

The old man shook his head and then he looked at me again and grinned

He said, "Georgia don't think you understand it ain't your little car I want

It's the brunette in [Incomprehensible] that's turnin' me on

 

Lord she was hotter than a two dollar pistol

She was the fastest thing around

Long and lean, every young man's dream

And she turned every head in town

She was built and fun to handle son, I'm glad you dropped in

She reminds me of the one I loved back then

 

[Incomprehneisble] she was hotter than a two dollar pistol

She was the fastest thing around

Long and lean, every young man's dream

And she turned every head in town

She was built and fun to handle son, I'm glad you dropped in

She reminds me of the one I loved back then

She reminds me of the one I loved back then

 

Tennessee Whiskey

I used to spend my nights out in a bar room

Liquor was the only love I've known

But you rescued me from reaching 

For the bottle

And you brought me back from

Being too far gone

 

You're as smooth as Tennessee whiskey

You're as sweet as strawberry wine

You're as warm as a glass of brandy

And I stay stoned on your love all the time

 

I looked for love in all the same old places

Found the bottom of the bottle always dry

But when you poured out your heart

I didn't waste it

'Cause there nothing like your love 

To get me high

 

You're as smooth as Tennessee whiskey

You're as sweet as strawberry wine

You're as warm as a glass of brandy

And I stay stoned on your love all the time

I stay stoned on your love all the time


Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0