· 

Jake Penrod - I Heard that Lonesome Whistle(Hank Williams Cover)

Jake Penrod sings  I Heard that Lonesome Whistle live on TruCountry Music Show.

"(I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle" is a song written by Hank Williams and Jimmie Davis. It became his fourteenth consecutive Top 10 single in 1951.

Hank Williams - (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle Lyrics

 

 I was ridin' number nine

Headin' south from Caroline

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

Got in trouble had to roam

Left my gal and left my home

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

 

Just a kid actin' smart

I went and broke my darlin's heart

I guess I was too young to know

They took me off the Georgia Main

Locked me to a ball and chain

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

 

All alone I bear the shame

I'm a number not a name

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

All I do is sit and cry

When the ev'nin' train goes by

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

 

I'll be locked here in this cell

Til my body's just a shell

And my hair turns whiter than snow

I'll never see that gal of mine

Lord, I'm in Georgia doin' time

I heard that lonesome whistle blow

 

 

Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0